Our team

Your go-tos for sponsored program and grant proposal assistance. Research administrators in our office are here to assist you with your research needs. To see a detailed organizational chart, click here

Dr. Kamal Khayat

Interim Vice Chancellor for Research and Innovation

Dr. Xiaoming He

Faculty Fellow to Vice Chancellor of Research and Graduate Studies, Professor of Mathematics and Statistics

Primary Duties



  • University Research Center evaluations
  • Promoting interdisciplinary research collaborations


Dr. Yue-Wern Huang

Faculty Fellow to Vice Chancellor of Research and Graduate Studies, Professor of Toxicology and Nanobiotechnology

Primary Duties


  • Facilitate international collaboration in graduate education and research
  • Promote interdisciplinary and cross-disciplinary research collaborations and programs at Missouri S&T and beyond. One emphasis area is to create synergy in smart health, biomedical applications, and engineering
  • Assist strategic planning and implementation of research directions and policies
  • Enforce research compliance in the areas of biosafety and animal use




Dr. Nancy J. Stone

Faculty Fellow to Vice Chancellor of Research and Graduate Studies, Professor of Psychological Science

Primary Duties


  • Coordinate annual NSF GRFP workshop
  • Facilitate, develop, and provide workshops for faculty
  • Assist in the development of policies and procedures
  • Identify and address faculty support needs



Gina Webb

Assistant Director of Office of Sponsored Programs

Cathie Eikermann

Sr. Compliance Manager

Le Wang

Data Analyst II

Angelica Nuno

Fiscal Manager

Abigayle Sherman

Executive Assistant

Primary Duties

Scheduling for VCR, Event planning, Administrative support

Laura Hamlet

Office Support Assistant

Proposal development

Summer Young

Lead Proposal Developer

Proposal Development Assistance
  • Multi-investigator projects
  • Large, complex projects
  • Otherwise strategic projects
Maria Shaub

Proposal Developer

Proposal Development Assistance
  • Early-career faculty member proposals

Pre-award and submission

Melissa Chambers

Grants & Contracts Administrator

  • Electrical and Computer Engineering
  • Materials Science and Engineering
  • Mechanical and Aerospace Engineering
  • Psychology
  • South Central Regional Professional Development Center
  • Teacher Education and Certification
  • Technology Transfer and Economic Development
  • Other departments not listed elsewhere
Cynthia Stevenson

Grants & Contracts Administrator

  • Biological Sciences
  • Civil, Architectural and Environmental Engineering
  • Economics
  • Engineering Management and Systems Engineering
  • English and Technical Communication
  • History and Political Science
  • Mathematics and Statistics
  • Mining Engineering
  • Nuclear Engineering
  • Physics
Magdalena Zawodniok

Grants & Contracts Administrator

Jessica Hays

Grants & Contracts Administrator

  • Arts, Language Arts & Philosophy
  • Business and Information Technology
  • Chemistry
  • Chemical and BioChemical Engineering
  • Computer Science
  • GGPE
  • International Affairs
  • Office of Academic Support
  • Enrollment Management

Post-award and close-out

Laura Kahl

Grants & Contracts Administrator

Ramona Nicewaner

Grants & Contracts Administrator

Ayako Ohrenberger

Grants & Contracts Administrator

Mendy Kell

Grants & Contracts Administrator

  • CAMT
  • Dept of Veterans Affairs
  • Dept. of Defense
  • Dept. of Health & Human Services
  • Environmental Protection Agency
  • Industry
  • Leonard Wood Institute
  • MATC
  • MIC
  • MO-CCI
  • National Labs
  • National Science Foundation
  • Nuclear Regulatory Commission
  • OBI
  • PSRMC Consortium
  • Societies
  • U.S. Dept. of Energy
  • U.S. Small Business Administration
  • Univ OF NE Lincoln
  • US DOT
  • US Forest Service
  • US Geological Survey